When You Hurt…

d1ea6565de0c5ddd90c0fe644d4a76db

Life always throws you curve balls, but most times they are easy to wade through and move ahead, finding the bright spot at the end of the tunnel. Unfortunately, this past week, my husband got a curve ball that stopped him in his tracks.

It’s hard when we have to say goodbye to a parent. I know from experience, losing my father when I was 13 years old. My husband just lost his father, the pain is fresh and the memories of what it was like for me are fresh as well. I think I feel a deeper and different kind of sympathy because I know what it feels like. I may not always show that I feel this pain, but it hurts my heart.

When you love someone, like I love my husband, there is a connection that pulls at you as you watch them suffer. No, I wasn’t as close to my father-in-law as my husband because there really can’t be a comparison between parent and child. I didn’t have the same shared experiences and time together.

I struggled as I watched my husband try to be brave, but I could tell his heart hurt. It hurt in a way that I couldn’t fix. I wanted to rescue him, but there was no way to rescue him from what he needed to feel. In the end, I had to let him feel those things because that is the way that you heal.

It’s given me some perspective. I will not take advantage of the time I have with my husband. He is the only person I can count on and I need him every moment of the day. I don’t think I would be able to take my next breath without him. I really truly want to make sure that I savor the time we have together. I’m trying not to be irritated with him and take everything he does with a laugh because I know there will come a time when I won’t get to laugh about it.

I want to enjoy him.

Until next time, stop and smell the roses.

 

 

Leave a Reply

