25 Year Ago

Steve-steve-clark-30613226-584-447

Wow, it’s been 25 years since Steve Clark of the band Def Leppard passed away. It seems like it was just yesterday.

I’m a huge Def Leppard fan, dedicating most of my teenage years to collecting all of their music and pictures. Through them, I made some of the best friends I’ve ever had in this life. Their music truly united us as fans and brought us together as sisters.

I’ve had the privilege of seeing Def Leppard multiple times in concert, but there is always something about the first time. It was magical, although the sky poured rain and we were outside. It seemed as though the concert would never happen. And then for a brief moment, the crowd was blessed with the sounds of true greatness. (I know I’m all fan girl just thinking about it again.)

I saw them in 1988. Steve was still alive, playing with his fellow guitarist Phil Collen and Def Leppard was riding the wave of “Pour Some Sugar On Me.” It was a glorious occasion.

When Steve died, it was heartbreaking for me as a fan. How would the band ever go one without someone who was so important to their sound? But they did go on. I think it was a lesson we can all take away for our lives.

Yes, Def Leppard has gone on, but they have not forgotten. I’m sure there are times when they miss their friend desperately, but they don’t let it interrupt their continued creativity. They have taken that experience and grown, using it to help fuel the continued cohesive sound. I think we can all grow from the people we have met, even if they are taken from us far too soon.

Do I miss hearing him play, of course. I never met him and never knew him, but my heart knew the melodies he played and I think him for all the joy he brought me.

Until next time, rock on!

 

Leave a Reply

