Give Thanks

5-Reasons-Im-Thankful-for-Type-1-Diabetes

I don’t usually hop on bandwagons. I’m not big on using my Facebook page to give thanks everyday in November. I want to be thankful all the time for the people in my life and things I have. It’s been a mission of mine to try and look at things a little more brightly, but sometimes life can smack you in the face and make it impossible.

So I’m going to use my blog to talk about some of the things I’m thankful for this year.

  1. I’m thankful that I have a husband that is so supportive. He will walk to the moon and back for things I want. We don’t have much, but what we have is each other and that is an amazing thing to have these days when so many are struggling in marriage.
  2. I’m thankful for my children. They can be tiring and pull me in all different directions, but I can say that they are something I created and have worked hard to shape into meaningful members of society. Some are coming along better than others, but it’s always a constant give and take on these things and hopefully the end product will be amazing.
  3. I’m thankful that I’ve got to spend so much time with my mother. My father has been gone for a long time, but I’ve had many years to spend with my mom, although I know there were times she was ready to kill me (and still there are some). I’ve learned a lot, laughed more than I should and agreed to disagree since I’ve become an adult.
  4. I’m thankful that something so scary as putting a book into someone’s hand and asking them to publish it, really didn’t turn out to be so scary. Don’t get me wrong, it’s still a scary prospect that you will be rejected, but knowing that you can get it accomplished, is such a great feeling.
  5. Finally I’m thankful for all the readers and friends I’ve made along the way this year. If it wasn’t for you all, I wouldn’t be able to say that I have a published novel (and two more on the way). Everyone has been very supportive and I’ve enjoyed this community so much. I can’t wait to see where this journey takes us.

As you find yourself reflecting on what you are thankful for, I encourage everyone to be thankful for the little things, because far too quickly they slip from your fingers and you can never find them again.

Until next time, be thankful.

Leave a Reply

