Wow Monday Already?

yawning-baby

I’ve had my nose in a book all weekend. I can’t believe it’s Monday again.

I know, I know … I’m supposed to be working on my next masterpiece for NaNoWriMo, but I have to tell you, my heart is not in it this year. Plus, on top of everything else that goes on in a busy mom’s life, I have rewrites on my fourth novella (the first in the Sagebridge Stories) to get through. Too many things on a plate that is always way too small, or on the ground because I dropped everything off of it. I’m not sure which.

The novel I’m reading is by Tonya Kappes. It is not the normal type of novel I read, but I thought I would give it a try. I really do like it. There is something so nice about reading it. She really does have a great “voice.” So if you get a chance, you might want to check her stuff out.

This phase is what my husband has coined as the “research phase” of my writing. I go through phases, do you? First there is the idea phase, then there is the scribbling like hell phase to get the story written, then there is the dreading phase (yeah, that is editing and rewriting) and then the research phase. Research phase is just his way to say I’m busy reading again, but there is good reason.

You can’t hone your craft, no matter what craft that is, without practice and watching the masters. You have to watch someone who has been successful and read their stuff to see what the appeal is to readers. Learning how to craft great stories is something you can always be doing and reading helps to get there. So that it why I’m busy reading. I took a break like this after I finished my last NaNo project too and it really helped me see what kinds of things I needed to change about my story.

I suggest if you need something to read, head over and pick our Our Hearts. I know you won’t be sorry.

So do you have a research phase or do you read all the time?

One thought on “Wow Monday Already?

Leave a Reply

