Back to the Beginning

the-myth-of-brainwashing

As November has descended on me, I’m working away on my NaNoWriMo project, but still, in the back of mind, is the project that started it all – Forbidden: Amira’s Journey.

I revisited that manuscript the other day. I pulled it out of the drawer and started looking at the novel I put together. There are some great things in that novel. And being away from it for almost a year, I see where I want it to go and what I need to do. It’s very fresh and different than the other things I’ve written. With the experience I’ve gained over the past year, I think I could make it into something really tight and great.

Reading the story again, I can see where I was coming from and what I really wanted to say about the world. Being that it is geared to a teen audience, there was the whole “let’s fight authority” thing. I’ve always wanted to fight authority. I don’t want to walk your path, I’ll make my own. I guess I’m still that way.

Maybe it’s the artist in me that always wants to do something different and not lay down and fall for the regular everyday. I want to step into a place where I’m scared and see what it makes me think about the world. Probably why I’ve always been attracted to dystopia and sci-fi. They give you that chance.

So right now I’m working on First and Ten which will be part of a new series called Gridiron Gossip (because I love football), but in the back of my mind, I’m formulating a plan for Forbidden. I think when I get it rearranged, it will be amazing.

It’s going to happen because I have to be a rebel.

Until next time, cross a line.

Leave a Reply

