I Lack Social Skills

e244e754581ca6f9b21213940704cb89

Throughout my life, I’ve had few friends. Yes, when I was in high school and college I had one very close friend and some sorority sisters, but not many more. I lack social skills when it comes to maintaining friends. I find that sometimes I speak my mind when maybe it isn’t appropriate. I tell the truth and lots of people don’t like to hear the truth. And then there is the fact that I rebel against everyone’s prescribed norms. I don’t want to be a follower, I want to blaze my own trail. I’m kind of a pain in the ass, to be truthful.

That leaves me in a strange place. I have very few friends, but it also means that I’m free. I’m free to do as I please because there is no one I have to worry about hurting their feelings or making sure that I make time for. I don’t have to invest what little time I have in a lot of people and that can make you feel good.

Writers, in general, are a loner kind of group. Get a bunch of us together and it feels awkward because we are so used to being alone with the characters we create. Now not all writers are like this, like every group there are exceptions to the rule. In my observation, writers contain so many different voice that it’s hard to add another real person to the mix. Plus, we need time alone to make our masterpieces and we don’t need people always trying to pull us away from our writing time. Writing has to be a priority, all the time.

Am I going to try to change? Nope. I don’t have time for small talk and all that jazz. I’m pretty content with my one really good friend and my pen and notebook.

Until next time, I’ll be hiding in my blanket fort.

Leave a Reply

