Everyone Knows

TOTT_websize

Well this is what happens when you live in small town America – you tell one person you are going to have a book published and the whole town knows.

It was a strange experience yesterday after I revealed my cover online and asked my friends to share my author Facebook page and then I walked into the bank. I live in a very small town, so I know a lot of people, plus my job makes it so that I get to meet and interact with a lot of people. When I went to the bank, the first things one of the tellers asked is if that was my book that was soon to be published. I was kind of taken aback because I didn’t think that people really cared about someone publishing a romance novel.

Turns out I was wrong.

I guess I’m the talk (or the gossip, take your pick) of the town because everywhere I went yesterday people were asking about my book. Okay, so that is good, maybe I have a built-in fan base. Right?

WRONG!!! I guess it’s the continued self-doubt that was screaming at me to be embarrassed because these people I know are going to read the story I’ve written. Don’t get me wrong, I love the story, but you all know about the doubt and what kinds of tricks it plays on us.

PLUS – there is a sex scene and that is not something you want your high school boyfriend’s grandma to read and then ask you about in public. Seriously!

It’s good that people are talking and there is a buzz. I hope my efforts at shameless self-promotion are not being lost on those who are ready for a great read (which Our Hearts turns out to be). I hope that these people who I interact with everyday or weekly will be the cornerstone of my growing group of avid readers!

Next on my list, come up with awesome street team names. I’m drawing a blank at the moment.

Until next time, be the talk of the town.

Leave a Reply

