It’s Hard to Fathom

writer-605764-e1441805626447

It’s hard to fathom that when I started this blog, my life was in a different place. I was a different person, not a completely different person, but a different person nonetheless. You can’t go through a year and not change. There are every day routines, yes, but there are changes we have to make to necessitate the continuation of our life.

This year, for the first time, I got to say I’m a writer to actual people. Yes, I’ve been a writer for years now, but it wasn’t until my first novella was accepted by Luminosity Publishing that I really felt as though I arrived. No it’s not all butterflies and unicorns, but it is something. I can now say that I’m a published (or soon to be published) author.

That is strange. It really feels strange. I didn’t know when I wrote my first full length novel through NaNoWriMo that I would take a completely different direction and be writing romance novellas. It’s a great thing when you finally find something that ignites the writer spark inside of you. It feels good, but it can also be crazy.

I know the crazy as I continue with the third book in this series. I feel the crazy. I’m desperately trying to finish writing it and get it rewritten for submission as soon as possible. I don’t want to leave things out though and continue to want to do good work that is creative and intriguing. It’s a very fine balance for me now.

Will I ever return to my original novel about Amira? I’m going to, but it’s going to take on a very different look. I’m going to break it into three pieces and create a trilogy from it, letting me explore these characters a bit further. I think novella chunks is what I have the ability to really write well and I want that story to be one of the best. After all, it started me on this fantastic journey in the first place. It’s kind of like my first born novel and there is always a special place for it in my heart.

So guess what? I’m a writer and a romance writer, at that.

Until next time, ignite that passion.

Leave a Reply

