First Draft Woes

59100006

The past few days have been a struggle. A big struggle against the inner voice that keeps telling me that it doesn’t want to write. It wants to take a break. It wants to watch mindless TV shows about alien conspiracies. So guess who has been winning?

Yep, the inner voice has taken me off the beaten path and down a weird trail of alien conspiracies and Ken Burns’ The Civil War. (What? Really?)

Okay, I feel like I should explain the Civil War thing. LOL It just sounds like something no one would select to watch on their Netflix cue. I have a bachelor’s in history. So I absolutely love history. I don’t particularly like the Civil War though and I remember having to watch this PBS offering when I took the class on the Civil War. Maybe it’s the memories it brings back of a freer time, but I’m not sure. Maybe I just wanted to know more about why people would threaten to kill each other over something that could be solved so easily. I think I really just want to disengage my brain after a long day at work where I have spent countless hours writing and rewriting stories to go to press.

So I made myself write some on my third installment of The Seer Trilogy, but I went back and looked at it and DAMN it sucks! I know, I know … it’s the first draft and it can all be fixed, but I thought with more experience things would go a little better. I guess not. So I’m struggling through today and trying to write even more, even though I’m afraid it will still suck. I guess I have to not be afraid to put one word after the other and get to those two glorious words “the end.”

Until next time, write!

One thought on “First Draft Woes

Leave a Reply

