Sneaky Photography

PaparazziTheseDays

Last week I was at a function for work and all of a sudden, out of the corner of my eye, I spot the perfect hero for my next novella Sugar Babes. OMG! He is perfect. All the way down to the earrings and the tattoos. Let’s just say this was a bit of an awkward situation because the thing I wanted to take a picture of was in completely the opposite direction. This would not do because I needed to capture this person’s likeness.

So what did I do?

I turned into the stealthy picture taker. I took about three snaps and then checked to make sure they had enough detail so that I can describe the person. I mean this is truly going to be the physical inspiration for the male lead in Sugar Babes. With technology the way it is nowadays, I know that any one of us could be subjected to photos without our knowledge, but I still felt bad. I didn’t know this man, at all, and I didn’t want to intrude on his life, but he was perfect and my writer’s mind knew that he was the one just from a quick glimpse. I never plan to use the pictures except when it comes to inspiring the hero of Sugar Babes.

Don’t fear me. I’m not out stalking the person and trying to find out who he is so I can hunt him down. When I told my husband, he just rolled his eyes at me like it was something I do everyday. He never has to fear about how much I love him because I love him with every fiber of my being. So me taking sneaky pictures of someone for a book is just par for the course when you are living with me as a writer.

I’m kind of like a man in that I’m a very visual person. That might come from years of graphic art design and selecting pictures for publications. I’m not sure, but I know what is appealing to me and I need to use that inspiration while I write. Literally I have a picture of the hero from Deadlines as the wallpaper on my tablet so I can become familiar with him. I want to describe how he moves and where his tattoos are placed on his body so that readers can see what I see. It just makes me better at what I do when it comes to words. It also makes the experience more immersive for readers. I want them to really be engaged with the person who is trying to win someone’s love, or maybe hurting her so badly she will hate men forever. Either way, I want them to become invested in him.

So to the poor man I was sneaky taking pictures of: I’m not some 40 year old football mom trying to hunt you down for a good time. I’m actually just putting you in my next novella. I hope you don’t mind!

Until next time, click away!

2 thoughts on “Sneaky Photography

  1. Haha! I do the same thing…take pictures of strangers I want to use for stories – without them knowing, and my husband just shakes his head and smiles. ;P I have a picture of Deaf, from the show Texas Rising, because he has a lot of the personality traits and physical characteristics (subtle things) I’ve had in mind for this character in one of my stories. When I saw him in action, I was like, Wow! That’s him! (Except a hundred years later!) That’s the fun stuff… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

