Here Is What Bothers Me

56723685

I’ve had time to think about this and I’m just going to put it out there. I hate sixth grade graduation. I have a problem with it because if you are rewarding kids for completing sixth grade, what really do they have to look forward to? This is just another symptom of a non-competitive world where everyone should get a ribbon/trophy/something for doing absolutely nothing.

When I was kid, we really competed. We had field day every year and if you weren’t the best, you didn’t get a ribbon. Also if you weren’t the best, you didn’t get the blue ribbon. It didn’t kill us. We learned that you had to work hard for something you wanted. It was a life lesson. Then we get to now where competition is a bad thing. Well guess what, you are going to have to compete your entire life.

There is no one who is going to hand a promotion/job/more money to you just because they think you deserve it. You are going to have to work hard to get what you want. Those are just the facts. If you wake up everyday thinking you deserve whatever you have, then you are wrong. You are dead wrong. You deserve nothing. You deserve to get off your lazy ass and make your life better.

So this brings be back to sixth grade graduation. I don’t have a problem telling them “hey, good job on completing the first six grades of school, but you have a lot of work ahead of you.” Why did I participate in this for a second time when I was so pissed about it last time? I don’t know, but I know spending $400 for a sixth grade graduation so parents can decorate and make balloon arches, kind of makes me angry.

This is not high school or college graduation. If you want to decorate with cutesy items and all that crap, then do it when your kid graduates from high school. Leave the sixth grade thing to receiving a certificate because you are moving to a different school. That would be enough.

Maybe I’m being too harsh and maybe these parents don’t think their child will make it to high school graduation, but I’ll be damned if my kid doesn’t get his butt in gear and pass high school even if I have to go to every single class with them for years on end. The rule in my house is you get a diploma and you either go to college or get a trade. The end. There is no other option for you. I don’t care if you have to go to high school for five years, you are getting a diploma and that is when we are going to celebrate your completion of the first part of your school

So this makes sixth grade graduation stupid to me. I know that next time I have to do one, in about nine years, I will have to think long and hard about participating in the whole thing. There are so many more important things we could be doing with our time and money. It just boggles my mind.

And by the way, I do have the reputation of being the parent who really thinks everything is a bad idea and also starting trouble because I stand up for my kids. Yeah, I made someone cry once at a meeting regarding occupational therapy. So I’m one of those people, but I’m starting to think I’m the only one with common sense in the entire world.

Okay rant is over! Sorry had to get that off my chest.

2 thoughts on “Here Is What Bothers Me

  1. I can relate…I’m one of those parents, as well. *sigh* I was a well-liked teacher when I taught school, and then I had kids of my own (a couple of them with special needs) and I became the parent teachers dreaded! Haha! I’ve often wished I could be one of those people who just shrugged things off and let things go, but I’m not. I see a lot of things in black and white, right and wrong…and in my older age, I have no filter! I am also counting down the days until my youngest is out of the school system! FREEDOM!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think those of us who have had to take on being champions for a child who doesn’t learn in the “normal” way tend to be more free with the way we deal with school systems. I know that before I would have never said anything against a teacher because I grew up in a house full of teachers and my sister-in-law and brother are both teachers. Now I want to make sure that my kids get what they need to be able to succeed in life. I have to be their voice because no one else will be able to be their voice. I know teachers cringe when they see me coming because I know teachers talk. So I just try to be fair and give credit to teachers who are amazing and go above and beyond for their students, but I’m not afraid to call them out on the carpet.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

