I’m a Slacker

6c74fd418c396ab5a665c911aa10127076c971dd1106e468b5c4eee346aa6080

I am making an admission now. I’m a super slacker. Yes, I’ve been a super slacker for the past several weeks.

Editing? Nope

Writing? Nope

I just have hit a brick wall. I don’t have the urge to write or even look at my manuscript right now. Maybe it’s a good thing to walk away. I’ve been bogged down for months now working on this story and it might need some fresh eyes. So I’m taking a break. It’s not really a break I chose to have, but it’s a break nonetheless.

I’m sure I’m not the only writer out there that has these feelings. I bet there are many like me. I’ve even considered trying to start a new writing project, but I feel like I won’t be able to give it my all. I don’t want to start a story when this one feels like it needs to be told.

So tell me your experiences. Have you needed a break or has your own mind given you a break from your writing? Let me know in the comments. I want to hear all the stories and the encouraging ways this has helped you. Maybe it hasn’t helped and I want to know that too!

Until next time remember, The Community is watching!

2 thoughts on “I’m a Slacker

  1. I SO relate to a lot of what you write about your writing process. I wish I had something encouraging to say about taking a break… Ha! Unfortunately, mine has lasted way too long! I would say that taking a break hasn’t been good for my writing, overall. it’s just given my insecurities an excuse to ‘party”! I’ve tinkered with a couple other stories in the meantime, but haven’t gotten very far. Sadly, I’m the sort that needs a good, swift kick in the butt, combined with a stern, “Just finish the damn thing already!” 😉 Wishing you luck, though!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I’m hoping to get back into my novel by the end of this week, but it’s hard. The kids are keeping me so busy and it seems spring might finally break here, maybe it will bring creativity with it. Or maybe, probably likely, I will have to kick myself and just do it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

