Changing the Tone

There is so much said about tone. The tone of a story, poem, letter, email, etc. So I thought I would present a study on tone.

“I Want You to Want Me” by Cheap Trick is a very popular song. I’ve always liked the happy feeling I get from the song as I bounce in the car, to my children’s embarrassment, and sing along.

What if we change the tone?

Someone has done it. They’ve changed a major key into a minor key, creating a completely different song. It sounds more melancholy.

Take a listen and see what you think. I’m in love with it. I think it breathes new life into an old song. Maybe changing the tone of a scene could help bring new life to a scene that feels out of place. Darken a happy scene or make a dark scene into a happy one.

Experiment. You may love what you find!

Leave a Reply

