Excerpt FRIDAY! – WOO HOO!

steven:preview

Well I’ve introduced you to Amira. Forbidden is actually her story, but like many other characters, her story cannot be told without the help of others.

So today, we are learning a little bit about Steven. He is a young man who has spent his life trying to do what is right. Right now he believes Amira is what is right. He knows he shouldn’t feel the way he does for her, but that never really stopped people from feeling.

So from Forbidden: Amira’s Journey:

A knock at the door startles me and I push myself off the bed, wiping my eyes as I cross to the door. I open it and sniffle as I see Steven standing on the other side. He has changed from his rob into a gray sweatshirt and blue jeans. He looks different in regular clothes, not as menacing.

You okay?” he asks leaning against the door frame because I have not invited him inside. I swipe at my eyes again and look up at him. I’m sure I look like a mess with red puffy eyes and tears still sitting on my cheeks.

I don’t know what okay is anymore,” I say smiling weakly.

You don’t have to make any decisions now,” he says easily letting me know not everything hinges on a decision today. “This is all very different for you and I have to remind myself that I have had time to adjust to all these things we are telling you. You will adjust too, in time.”

I nod. I’m not sure adjustment is what I want, but everyone seems to think this is what is best for me. I sigh. Steven leans across the door frame and places a small kiss on my lips. It is nothing spectacular, but it makes my heart races inside of my chest. I put my hands up and push at his shoulders pushing him away. This isn’t right because it felt so good. I can’t let myself think this way because I’m doing Anson a disservice.

I’m sorry,” he says and hangs his head as though he has disappointed me and himself. He takes a step back and shoves his hands in his pockets.

I think you should go,” I say. He nods and slowly turns and walks away. I watch him until he turns the corner at the end of the hall.

Until next time remember, The Community is watching!

Leave a Reply

