What I’m Reading – The Island

41bNQAU6OnL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

Often when we write, we find books become something which will easily derail us from our task. I have to admit, I was doing pretty well after I finished the Divergent series. I read some comic books (I love Morning Glories, it’s a terribly decadent passion of mine) and a few magazine articles, but I hadn’t really opened a book. It’s not that I don’t love reading. I spent most of my childhood reading Laura Ingalls Wilder books over and over. They kept me sane when I didn’t have anyone to play with and I enjoyed her way of storytelling. I often wonder if I should revisit those books which made such an impact on me.

I have tried to stay away from reading while I was writing for the mere fact that I wanted to get my novel completed. I was on a mission. I wanted to finish, let it rest and rewrite. Then I had to find beta readers. Luckily, the book is out being read now and I can take some time to catch up on some reading because I have missed it so much. It feeds me.

I just discovered there is a Kindle App for my PC. I know, I’m super late to this party, but I have discovered it and now I’m busy reading. So the first book I downloaded was The Island: A dystopian novella (The Island Series #1) by Jen Minkman. I didn’t know anything about it and just wanted some good dystopian reading. IT DELIVERS!

I have not completed the novella because I have kids and they demand attention now and again, but what I have read, I LOVE.

I highly recommend this book and right now for Kindle, it’s free. So grab it up and get to reading. Let me know what you think as well. I would love to hear if you enjoyed it. Here is the link The Island.

Until next time remember, The Community is watching!

Leave a Reply

