“Well All Girls Think They Can Write”

How many times have you heard this? How many times has someone broken apart your love for the written word with this short sentence?

I know I’ve heard it a million times in my life. I’m female and we all know females all think they can write, take photographs, blah, blah, blah.

I’m not ashamed any more because I CAN WRITE. I’ve been given a gift that I’ve been using since I was 12 years old. Back then I told terribly paced stories about girls who fell in love with the wrong guy. Pre-teen angst and love were the main themes of my stories, but over 20 plus years of writing for a career, I’ve learned what works and I am a writer, no matter my gender.

Sometimes I’m the jealous kind of writer that reads something someone else wrote and I want to pummel them because they shouldn’t be that good at doing it. It’s a sick and twisted way to live as a writer because we all have voices we want to share. I’ve learned, through old age, not to take those voices away from other people because it’s not fair. They deserve the right to write words just as much as I do.

It’s been a trying week for me because my book is out on it’s first jaunt through beta reading. I was scared at first because I didn’t want to let my babies leave the nest. These precious words I’d strung together to weave a tale, were like my children and now they were going to someone’s home (their eyes and mind) and I wouldn’t be able to protect them anymore. I was having a difficult time letting go.

Finally I managed. There are four people reading my manuscript now and trying to decide if I’m crazy or just a complete hack, but at least they are reading it. It hadn’t been read and enjoyed by anyone before this and how can words really capture someone if you don’t share them? I had to get over it and I did.

Okay, I’m still feeling sad because I haven’t heard back from all of them. One has been a really pick me up with his kind words and I’m thankful to have the little push along as I head into the sequel book.

I can’t stop, even though my babies are out telling their story to someone else, because I want to make sure to complete the story I started writing. That is what 2015 is about. it’s about finishing the story and actually living this dream I’ve had for so many years. I won’t be rich, but my heart will be full and I will be able to look at myself proudly. I want to be the artist I know I was meant to be and letting my babies visit others for a bit, is just another step along the path to a greater and better me.

Until next time remember, The Community is watching!

Leave a Reply

