Starting 2015 With a Fresh Perspective

Sometimes as writers, we sit in our little rooms, or in the rooms we create inside our minds, and don’t ever peek our heads out to see what is happening around us. The end of 2014 was very much like that for me. I was unable to poke my head out and see who was passing by and what was happening.

I could say it’s because I was spending the last two months of the year writing a book, which I was, but I think I was experiencing the doldrums of the year. I was unable to make one more move and unable to find one more excuse to get out of the house, although I had plenty. I’m thankful I’ve finally come out to see what everyone is doing. It’s giving me some inspiration and made things a little easier to handle (I know we are only five days into the year, but I’m trying to be cheerful here!).

I don’t usually make resolutions for new years because I always find they are easily broken. I know I need to lose weight; I know I need to quit smoking; I know I need to do blah, blah, blah. I just can’t do it. This year I’ve dedicated my life, instead of make a resolution, to writing. I am now on board with Ray Bradbury who said he wrote everyday. EVERYDAY! I cannot let another year go by and not tell the stories I’ve been telling to myself for all these years. I want to share, no, I NEED TO SHARE.

So I’m starting this blog, hopefully a weekly experience for me, to show everyone what I have been doing with my novel Forbidden:Amira’s Journey (The Community Book 1). It’s been a labor of love and continue to be a labor of love as I head into the unknown of publishing. Yes, it’s scary, but I think I have what it takes. I’ve been reject before and this will not be the first time.

If you want to join me on this rollercoaster ride and get to see some excerpts from what I consider the best thing I’ve written, EVER, then stay tuned to this blog. I will also be reviewing different books that I read during the time when my novel is out for beta reading and revision. Feel free to recommend something I should read. I’m a slower reader, but I love consuming the written word.

I want to leave you with a song that really inspired me to write Forbidden. I don’t know if it was the grungy sound or the haunting voice, but this song rang through my mind while I was writing. Enjoy

Until next time remember The Community is watching!

Leave a Reply

